Instituto de Nanociencia y Materiales de Aragón, C/Pedro Cerbuna 12, 50009 Zaragoza, Spain

Contact Information

Call: +34 976 762 742


J. Javier Campo Ruiz

PhD - Staff

Aragón Nanoscience and Materials Institute

Javier Campo (Spanish, San Adrián 1968) made his doctoral thesis at the Aragón Materials Science Institute (ICMA), join research institute between the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) and the University of Zaragoza, in 1995.

Later he moved to the University of Montpellier where he made a post-doctoral stay of 2 years.

From 1998 to 2002 Dr J Campo was appointed by the CSIC as scientist responsible for the CRG-D1B at the Institute Laue Langevin (ILL) in Grenoble (France) and in 2003 he joined the ICMA as a researcher under the Spanish program “Ramón y Cajal” where he continued heading the Spanish CRG’s at the ILL, including the CRG-D15 and recently the new diffractometer for extreme conditions XtremeD.

He was Director of the ICMA from 2012 to 2020.  Now his scientific interest is focused on the study of “Magnetic Chirality“, “Purely organic magnets” and “Operando large scale facilities techniques to study materials for energy”  by using neutron scattering techniques.

Javier Campo is the author of more than 170 scientific papers and main researcher in 56 research projects. He has supervised 5 doctoral theses (and 4 In course) and has held several international membership, among others; vice-presidency of the ENSA from 2009 to 2014, Spanish delegate at the ILL Steering Committee since 2008, International Advisor of the Dan Benninson Nuclear Technology Institute (Argentina) and the Global Institute for Materials Research Tohoku (Sendai, Japan), Advisor to the Directorate of the Argentinian Laboratory for Neutron Beams, Chair of the Spanish Committee for Large Scale Research Infrastructures (CAIS), Chair of the European Congress VI-ECNS, Member of the High Committee for Science, Technology and Innovation of Aragón,


  1. 1987

    BUP - COU

    Institute Marco Fabio Quintiliano (Calahorra)
  2. 1991


    University of Zaragoza
  3. 1995


    University of Zaragoza

Professional Experience

  1. 1991 - 1995
    PhD student - CSIC
    Aragón Materials Science Institute
  2. 1996 - 1998
    Post Doctoral - MEC
    University of Montpellier
  3. 1999 - 2003
    Scientist - CSIC
    Institut Laue Langevin (ILL)
  4. 2002 - 2005
    Ramón y Cajal position - CSIC
    Aragón Materials Science Institute
  5. 2005
    Tenure Scientist - CSIC
    Aragón Materials Science Institute
  6. 2008
    Researcher - CSIC
    Aragón Materials Science Institute
  7. 2012 - 2020
    Director - CSIC
    Aragón Materials Science Institute
  8. 2020 -
    Researcher - CSIC
    Aragón Nanoscience and Materials Institute